Disconnecting to get connected

I’ve written before about our obsession with social media and technology, and it’s still something I think about regularly today. The amount of time throughout each that I pick up my phone to flick absentmindly through Instagram or read a blog post whilst waiting for a bus is probably a little bit ridiculous. But lately I’ve noticed I’ve started to do that less and less, and it feels amazing.

Okay okay, maybe not the Instagram bit. It’s still my favourite form of social media. But seriously, my blog reading has dropped dramatically as of late, and I’m okay with that. More and more often I’m finding myself selecting ‘mark as read’ on Bloglovin’ as I decide to spend my time in real life instead.

FullSizeRender (22)

Don’t get me wrong, I love the blogging world (I wouldn’t be here otherwise) but it’s not my whole life. It’s great to escape sometimes, to read about someone else’s life as yours seems a little boring that day. I’m a dreamer and I always will be, dreaming of new adventures, new places discovered, lessons learnt and people met. But I never want that to get in the way of the here and now. I don’t want to waste my time comparing my life to other people’s, and dismissing my own as their’s seems more beautiful, more glamorous, more together.

This past Wednesday I was having a pretty rough day and home alone with my housemate on holiday I really needed someone to talk to, and through the power of technology (aka my iPhone) my friends were there right with me, in an instant. I felt so bloody lucky to have these amazing people surrounding me (albeit virtually) and my day turned right around. Yes I was connected, but with myself and the people I love.

It reminded me to live each moment in the here and now. Time is finite so we should choose how we spend it wisely. Let go, and let the moment wash over you.

How do you disconnect and keep connected?

11 thoughts on “Disconnecting to get connected

  1. Right there with you! Social media is so valuable, but it’s easy to let it take hold of you without realizing it. I gave up social media for Lent this year and it was a really refreshing experience. Blogged about it if you’re interested 🙂

    One thing I love doing is getting new books from the library to keep around the house and in my purse. I’m doing my best to pick up a book – instead of my phone – when I have a minute to spare, and it’s making a huge difference!

    • Oh wow that must have been interesting! I shall head over and take a look later 🙂

      Isn’t there something just so magical about books? Part of the reason I will never truly ‘get’ kindles etc.
      I’m trying to read more on the tube instead of just having music and it’s really nice 🙂

  2. Aw, I have so much love for this post. I really love that you said, ‘time is finite’, so many of us forget that. I feel like we are sharing similar feelings lately, which is why I really loved this. It’s challenging to stay connected while being disconnected because these days the only way to stay connected is to be connected. Face-to-face & real life communication just isn’t what it used to be anymore. ❤ you!!

    • Something about being in our early 20s I guess – we’re reflecting a lot on life haha!

      Yes exactly it sure is tricky, I think it’s all about finding that balance really – keeping connected with our friends through technology when appropriate but not using social media so much that we end up spending more time in that word, and then that can be when the comparison trap starts!

      • Gahhh, the sick comparison trap that is becoming more prominent in the ‘fitness world’ on IG. Makes me sad, but also makes me happy that were level headed about it and can spot it instead of falling into the trap ourselves. Don’t get me wrong, I admire some people and their fitness journeys, but I never want to compare someone else’s life to my own. Technology is with us for the long haul, so I need to just embrace it but keep balance in mind. Might be easier said than done, but that’s what life is, a work in progress ❤

  3. I will definitely hit the “mark all as read” button on occasion. I’m also trying not to mindlessly stare at my phone for hours on end. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but being consicous of it is so important.
    I have one coworker who is ALWAYS texting when we grab coffee and I find it bothersome.

  4. Brilliant post Pip. I think it is a tricky balance between staying connected online and being in your own life connected to the people you love around you. Lately I have very much been on the latter. As you know, I love blogging and the online world, but I love life off of the computer screen much more. I think it is so important we are present in our lives off the internet otherwise we will spend so much time documenting it all that we will actually miss living it!! xxx

    • EXACTLY. I say it time and time again but it’s all about finding that balance. Living to the full but documenting/writing too if that’s what you choose to do. But never ever living through a screen because that’s just not real! xxx

Leave a Reply

