Chocolate PNB Porridge (Grain-Free)

I don’t know about you but when I get up in the morning I do not enjoy having to think, not for the first hour at least. In fact, as a teenager, when I was getting up at 6am to train for rowing before school I barely spoke a word before leaving the house. According to my dad – a very unreliable source in my opinion – I would swear at him in my sleep as he tried to wake me up. Being such a polite and charming teenager I struggle to believe this.

One thing I do believe for sure, however, is that breakfast is essential. I’m not going to lie, it’s what gets me up in the morning. That chilled time with some delicious food and a mug of tea (the coffee starts later) is golden. So I tend to stick with the same breakfasts given that my decision-making skills are somewhat sub-par before I’ve eaten.

Lately, it’s either been scrambled eggs or more often this ‘paleo’ porridge. I first tried the recipe via Davida’s e-book, definitely go check it out if you haven’t already. It’s gradually evolved over the…mornings through my random substitutions and adaptation.

chocolate peanut butter paleo porridge oatmeal

Quick and easy it packs a load of nutrients into your morning fuel and you get to eat chocolate for breakfast which is an all-round winner in my books. I find that if I have something like this in the morning I’m far a bit less likely to want chocolate snacks brownies later in the day.

chocolate peanut butter paleo porridge oatmeal

The lovely folks over at MyProtein.com sent me over some of their hemp protein powder and peanut butter to try, both of which come in a kilo size.Β Perfect. I know there are some protein powder sceptics out there but here me out. Protein = satisfying staying power and essential to build/strengthen muscle. Clearly I could eat some meats/eggs etc. but sometimes you don’t want the normal protein, sometimes you need some chocolate porridge and this version tastes much better sans egg. Trust me, I tried. So all natural hemp protein powder is the perfect way to go.

Plus, peanut butter = delicious healthy fat. It’s not ‘proper paleo’ but it tastes good, is a cheaper than AB and my stomach enjoys some variety in its fats if you catch my drift.

So, enough chatter. Let’s skip to the good bit πŸ˜‰

Chocolate PNB Porridge (Grain-Free)

Serves 1

2 tablespoons flaxseed

2 tablespoons ground almonds

1 tablespoon hemp protein powder

1-2 tablespoons cocoa powder (depending on how chocolately you like it)

1 cup almond milk or water

1 tablespoon coconut flour

1 teaspoon peanut butter

Handful frozen cherries (optional, unless you’re me, they add a touch of sweetness)

Add the flaxseed, ground almonds, hemp protein powder and cocoa powder to a non-stick pan along with 3/4 cup almond milk. Place on a medium heat and stir until all is combined.

Keep stirring occasionally until the mixture thickens.

Add the coconut flour, the rest of the almond milk and the frozen cherries.

Keep on stirring until the desired thickness is achieved. You may want to add a little extra liquid if necessary, I find it often depends on the brand of coconut flour you use.

Elegantly dollop pop into a bowl and drizzle with peanut butter.

Breakfast is served!

Disclaimer – I was kindly sent the hemp protein powder and peanut butter from MyProtein.com to be included in a recipe. All thoughts and opinions are my own and I use these ingredients anyways. Thanks for your support!

Do you have a classic breakfast? What are your thoughts on starting the day with chocolate?

10 thoughts on “Chocolate PNB Porridge (Grain-Free)

Leave a Reply

