A Week in the Mountains

Last week I escaped to Tignes, nestled high (2100m to be exact) in the French Alps for one glorious week of skiing, sunshine and escapism. This holiday could not have come at a more perfect time, I had my final wave of intense deadlines on the Thursday and come Saturday morning I was at St Pancras ready to catch the Eurostar south.

Tignes 2100

I went with my dad and family friends, many of whom I hadn’t seen in years – far too long.

Naturally, birthday gin and tonics were the order of the day when it came to Ellie’s 23rd…

gin and tonic

The weather wasn’t always perfect…

Tignes cloudy

In fact, sometimes we couldn’t see a bloody thing… what piste?

Tignes white out

But chocolat chaud avec a mountain of chantilly more than made up for it…

chocolat chaud chantilly

As did views like this…

Grande Motte Tignes

And this…

Grande Motte Tignes 2

One time I joined the others in venturing off piste… but 4 years without skiing, plus not so perfect tekkers resulted in me ending up on my bum. Smooth.

Tignes

Happily, there was plenty of French wine to pick things up again…

rosé

And pig’s cheek to try…

Pig's Cheek

Always with a sweet ending…

Ice cream

Followed by more perfect sunshine…

Tignes Sunshine

Lots of coffee in the snow…

Coffee Snow

Whilst looking at this view…

Grande Motte Tignes 3

France did us proud.

Are you a mountains or a beach person? Are you a skier? 

9 thoughts on “A Week in the Mountains

  1. Wow! Beautiful pictures. I love the mountains- they are just stunning and the air you get up there is so fresh. I love walking in the mountains- I did ski a bit when I was younger but am very nervous so didn’t tend to go far. I do like a walk along a beach but I could spend a lot longer in the mountains.

  2. Oh whaaaat I am drooling so much right now. That hot choc! Oh and the snow looks pretty stunning too 😉 I’ve only been skiing once but I swear I will go again!

Leave a Reply

