Gettin’ Preachy With It

I’ve talked about this before but never dedicated a whole post to it… If you eat slightly differently to the rest of the population chances are you’ve received food judgement and been told that you “eat weird“. And during that you’ve bitten your tongue and said nothing because you choose your battles and sometimes it just isn’t worth it.

Well today, let me tell you it is worth it. Today I want to tell you how bloody awesome it feels to have a body that works properly (most of the time…). Yes my body is far from perfect and I’m still figuring out. No I’m not a health professional so take this with a pinch of salt. What I do know, however, is how much the simple things can transform your lifestyle.

Food

JERF – just eat real food. Proper wholesome food. Play around with it until you find what your body likes. Don’t be afraid to experiment. If chicken and veggies is your ideal breakfast, great! If it’s porridge and nut butter then that’s good too. Do what’s right for you, every body is different. Literally.

Don’t be scared of any food. Fats nourish your body, protein will help you grow stronger. And treats will feed your soul which, let’s face it, is 100% necessary.

Movement

Find the joy in what your body can do. Experience has taught me that you never know when that ability might run out. So use your body now, dance, surf, cycle, run, swim, lift weights, practice yoga. Whatever brings you that wave of happiness, just do it. Even if you feel self-conscious starting out you will adjust and some of the greatest friends you make may well be through a shared joy of movement. Appreciate your body, and most of all appreciate yourself.

But also rest, have days when you do sod all. Don’t worry about how many calories you’ve burnt or how many steps you’ve taken. Does it really matter? Are you going to look back when you’re 80 and think how glad you are that you did that extra workout? Take care of your body, it’s what carries you on your greatest adventures.

Sleep

Get a decent amount of sleep. 7-9 hours. Telling me that you “don’t have time for a full night’s sleep” doesn’t make me respect you any more. It is not a status symbol. Your body needs sleep to recover and function normally. Sleep deprivation is probably the biggest hindrance to your success, its a hindering your greatness.

Love

Love yourself. Love your friends. Love what you do. Go against the grain, or go with it. Just find that thing that you love and make it your reality. It might not be the easiest option but it sure as hell is the most valuable.

Quit loathing yourself. Fat is not a feeling. Do not tell me that it is. Nor anyone else for that matter. Stop the body shaming and be proud of who you are. I’m not my skinniest nor my strongest nor my biggest right now but I sure am are my happiest. I’m headed where I want to go, doing what I want to do. It’s not easy everyday but I’m getting there. Progress beats perfection. Every time.

Thoughts… Do you choose your battles, or do you just say it?

8 thoughts on “Gettin’ Preachy With It

  1. I agree with you that simple things should change your life and that we should know how we, and our bodies, are worth it. Loving ourselves can be such a difficult task, but we all deserve a lot of self-care. : )

  2. Last year I really had a lack of sleep, but I was teaching a different year group and was frequently up til midnight marking work- no shortcuts possible really. This year I am trying to go to bed earlier but it is hard. Although at the moment I have been up late reading so at least I am relaxing, just not sleeping.

Leave a Reply

