{WIAW} A day in the life of a postgraduate student

It’s been…dare I say it…10 months since my last day in the life post. How time flies, and how so much has changed. I still get nervous sharing a whole day of my food on the Internet but this week those nerves were calmed as I read Meghan’s NEDA post and I realised that this is just me, and it’s okayΒ πŸ™‚ So, here’s Monday.

6.43ish am – I wake up naturally just before my alarm. I’m baaaack! Feel very excited that I am not waking up still exhausted for once and celebrate by scrolling through Instagram before getting dressed etc.

7am – eat a banana and almond butter that I forgot to photograph, great start. Get ready to leave for the day.

7.15am – leave the house and jog to the bus round the corner as I realise it is due to leave. Thank the bus driver for being nice not making me look like an idiot by driving off.

7.50am – arrive at CrossFit and stretch. Snap this photo on my walk from the bus stop of the City shining in the distance, smile at the sunny weather πŸ™‚

London sunshine

8am – workout time! Today was very upper body focussed. I’ll spare you the details of everything we did but the WOD was 21-15-9 handstand push-ups and pull-ups. I scaled to funky handstand push-up style things on a bar (I believe that’s the technical term) and ring rows.

9am – shower and get dressed into slightly more normal clothes.

normal

9.20am – catch the overground and tube to uni. Have a quick phone call with my friend until the signal goes and then crack on with eating my beautiful and bloody delicious breakfast of sweet potato, chicken and cashew butter.

sweet potato chicken cashew butter

9.50am – arrive at uni and attempt to finish breakfast before class starts.

10am – lecture time. Today we were learning about measuring and assessing human rights.

11.15am – get hungry and snack on a Primal PantryΒ bar, these are seriously good by the way.

primal pantry bar

12pm – class finishes. Catch the tube home. On the tube I snack on a mini paleo muffin thing that I forget to photograph, it wasn’t very pretty anyway.

12.30pm – arrive home and assemble my lunch. Thank past me for being organised and doing food prep for once. Eat whilst watching the CrossFit Games Behind the Scenes because I’m cool like that.

beef butternut squash pepperRoast beef, butternut squash, red pepper, tahini and coconut aminos

banana nut butter cocoa powderBanana with cashew butter and cocoa powder for dipping

1.15pm – go through emails and do a Sainsbury’s online shop. Tiredness hits.

2pm – pack up my stuff and get ready to head off again. Change from trainers to boots and feel weird that I now resemble a ‘normal human being’.

IMG_1754

boots

2.10pm – leave to walk to the doctors.

2.30pm – doctors appointment.

2.50pm – leave the doctors and walk to the tube. Catch the tube to Leicester Square.

3.15pm – arrive at Timberyard and order myself an almond milk cappuccino. Aka thebomb.com. Settle down to work. Finish up a blog post for an international development charity I volunteer for and send it off. Call my dad. Research women’s rights in Brazil for an exciting Skype interview I have on Thursday night as part of a uni assignment. Explain that sadly the coffee and cake delivered to my table whilst I was in the loo aren’t mine and that someone else is probably waiting for them. Coffee and cake taken away.

almond cappuccino

5.50pm – leave and catch the tube home.

6.25pm – arrive home. Make dinner. Realise halfway through making my sweet potato hash that I have courgettes that need eating. Spiralise one and add to the hash. Congratulate myself on my new invention and wonder why nobody has ever done this before. Realise they probably have. Eat dinner whilst catching up on blog reading.

sweet potato hash eggs

cherries banana muffinFrozen cherries, another mini paleo muffin and cashew butter. There’s a reason this blog’s called Cherries & Chisme πŸ˜‰

7.30pm – back to work. More Brazil research. Feeling very tired.

8.30pm – phone call with my friend in Australia. She tells me I sound “like I’m very far away”. I reply that “I’m on the other side of the world, I don’t think I could be any further away”.

9pm – get ready for bed.

9.15pm – bed. Exhausted.

At the time I felt like I was eating a lot but I think this was due to not eating much the previous two days due to a lack of appetite, it was definitely back! I also ate a lot of nut butter, something I’ve been eating less of lately as it helps my stomach but these were small servings and they were delicious πŸ˜‰ I’d have liked to have got some more work in but considering my day was all over the place I think I did the best I could, plus it was procrastination free. All in all not too shabby.

Head on over to Jenn for some more What I Ate Wednesday action!

How was your Monday? Do you judge what you eat a bit much sometimes?

11 thoughts on “{WIAW} A day in the life of a postgraduate student

  1. I LOVE SWEET POTATO, I could eat it for every meal every day πŸ˜€
    I’m hosting a #WIAW party on my blog, come join us! The link up is at the bottom of my current WIAW post. Hope to see you there πŸ™‚

  2. Loved reading this lady. You are a busy bee, but it is very much needed with you saving the world of human rights πŸ˜‰
    Great to see you get a great workout in and a load of healthy food in despite being busy – it can be done πŸ™‚

    • Haha you are too kind my dear – right back at you!
      Exactly, it so is possible. No time is definitely no excuse for bad food! And with the workout it’s all about balance, fit it in when you can and if you can’t don’t stress about it, there will be other days πŸ™‚

  3. Well I’m thrilled to have inspired you to open and share a day in the life/WIAW post. I feel like I could eat a pile of those eggs right now, even though I had Parmesan Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Fried Eggs for dinner last night. I must be on a mental egg kick. It’s a thing, πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

