Guilty as charged

You know how sometimes it’s the things that you really shouldn’t love that can give you the greatest happiness? The stupid indulgences, the ‘uncool’ things, or maybe just the downright weird… Yep, we’ve all got our guilty pleasures…

Blue

Any British kid growing up in the the 2000s will know exactly who I’m talking about. I loved them then and I love them now, Duncan was my very first crush and their songs never fail to make me smile. Plus they’re going on tour soon!! Anyone want to come with me? Anyone? You know you want to.

Premier Inn

*Ahem* hear me out on this one okay. When I was at secondary school it felt like I was competing in rowing races around the UK pretty much every weekend, so seemingly every weekend I would find myself staying in a Premier Inn. The bed was always big and comfortable, I could watch TV from bed and eat as much as I wanted from the breakfast buffet – a teenager’s ideal? I reckon so. It was always kind of comforting for me that each hotel is exactly the same, and I felt a sense of familiarity as I travelled around from place to place. On the coach home last week I found myself reminiscing as I passed one and I couldn’t help but smile.

Cadbury’s Mini Eggs

Normally I’m a bit of a chocolate snob, I like my chocolate with a high percentage and preferably Lindt or Green & Blacks. Then, once a year this little thing called Easter rolls around and for the few months preceeding the shops are full of Mini Eggs which I’ve always had a soft spot for. Now that I’ve worked on ditching my food fears I am able to enjoy them again guilt free! Well, kind of. The chocolate snob in me does quiver slightly…

(Source)

Long plane journeys

An excuse not to do anything productive and sleep/watch films at my will? And then when I wake up I’m in a new exciting location? Well okay then. I know I know, the food is trashy, the air is recycled and you’re squashed into an uncomfortable chair for a zillion hours too many. I. Don’t. Care. I love it so. And who doesn’t love people watching in airports beforehand? C’mon.

American dreaming

Yup. Sometimes I’d rather love to be a US blogger, shopping at Wholefoods and TJs, eating Justin’s almond butter willy nilly, snacking on Quest bars, ordering in from chipotle, spending my days at one of the countless CrossFit affiliates, shovelling mountains of snow from my driveway because it does actually snow properly at my fake imaginery home… You get the picture. Not that I’m stereotyping or anything here… But a girl can dream. Until she remembers that she’s British, lives in a flat, has to order Quest bars intermittently from Amazon and gets excited about less than 1cm from snow. Ah well.

Made in Chelsea

Pure trashy absolutely awful brilliant escapism. Enough said.

(Source)

Getting ready for bed at 9.30pm

I may be in my early 20s and living in the biggest city in the UK but sometimes I’m just exhausted and need a lot of sleep… And getting up early does make you feel kinda smug (even though I’m not currently managing it…)

On that note, it’s Wednesday night and I’m sleepy… Good job Amanda’s given me cause to simply think out loud today.

Thinking-Out-Loud2

Tell me some of your guilty pleasures

16 thoughts on “Guilty as charged

  1. Mini Eggs are freaking AMAZING. They used to be my favourite chocolate candy before they slapped an allergy warning on them so that I couldn’t eat them anymore, but I found a suitable alternative in Hershey’s Eggies which I adore just as much. And heyyyyy… Easter is coming soon :mrgreen: I’m gonna have to agree to disagree about long plane rides, though. I get so bored and restless on them, and even though I bring tonnes of things to do, nothing seems appealing on planes.

  2. Long plane journeys would be OK if the toilets were OK, but I really hate them, plus there is always the panic that when you go to use the toilet, there will be turbulence and then what do you do???
    I think peanut butter cups are my guilty pleasure- I know that you can get healthier ones (the Justin’s ones) but they are hard to find, and the cheapy ones just taste so good. It’s the one thing I don’t read the ingredients for!

  3. Ha this cracked me up. I will have to agree with everyone and say mini eggs are amazing – ridiculously moorish though!
    I hear you on American dreaming – I would love to live there for a while – a health lovers dream!

  4. How funny that one of your guilty pleasures is pretending you live in America! One of my guilty pleasures is wishing I lived in England, in York specifically, because I studied there after grad school and loved it! I’ve always been obsessed with England. Why are we never satisfied with where we are? By the way, let me tell you, shoveling snow gets old fast. Sooooo fast. It was -26 F here in Upstate NY yesterday with windchill as well. If you ever move to the US, I highly recommend a place like North Carolina, where snow is rare and it’s sunny all the time! 🙂 So glad I stumbled across your blog!

    • Aw thank you, what a lovely comment!
      York is beautiful, I did my undergrad in Durham and loved it.
      The grass always is greener isn’t it? Although maybe we just always want to explore the unknown, maybe that’s it 😉 want to swap?!

Leave a Reply

