Life Lately

It is funny, nearly exactly a year ago I published this post talking about starting out in Buenos Aires and how I felt like I was on the edge of something amazing. And lately I’ve been getting the same kinda feeling. I don’t know if it’s the time of year, or simply embarking on a new adventure but it’s pretty bloody wonderful. I feel like 2015 is going to be a pretty special year.

Finally, I’ve been starting to breathe again. Essay deadlines are slowing down – I have an assignment this Thursday and then Monday and then that’s it till March! Yippee! Now that my headspace is a little clearer I’ve been conscious of taking a little more time to focus on my health again. Like I’ve said in previous posts I was pretty pleased with the way I ate over Christmas but it sure has been nice to eat pretty much consistently paleo again, I just feel so much better in myself for it. Plus, there’s been some rather delicious food round these parts lately, even if they don’t always look that exciting…

Perfectly simple, cod and veggies

photo 2 (49)My ideal breakfast, protein and good fats = happy me

photo 3 (43)Coconut cauliflower rice never fails to disappoint, especially when topped with carrot and chicken

photo 5 (31)I went to a different shop the other day and accidently bought the wrong potatoes, SUCH a dissapointment #sweetpotatoaddictsanonymous

photo 4 (39)Plus a few lovely dinners out… Salad + G&T = balance. Right?

My only food complaint is that my tummy’s been feeling a little bloated lately so that’s something I’m trying to figure out. The Paleo Running Momma published this interesting post yesterday about FODMAP so I’m thinking that’s something I may look into.

I hurt my back about 10 days back (turns out opening drawers is a very hazardous exercise) so my return to more regular workouts was slightly delayed but even after just being back (ha) for a few days I am loving it. I’m going to CrossFit more regularly again (3 times a week), upping my running and cycling as much as I can instead of getting the bus. Even in the rain. But that’s mainly because I’m stubborn and don’t want to spend the money! I’ve also been working on stretching more and doing bits of yoga. My back giving up on me was a timely reminder to take better care of myself, especially given my past experience of numerous injuries…

yoga

reebok

running kit

Plus, working out is so much more fun when you have exciting new clothes to try out! I’m looking forward to braving a run in shorts soon…

So all in all it’s safe to say I’m pretty happy right now! Which is rather a lovely feeling. I’ve been settling back into London life, catching up with some of my favourite people, been offered an internship at an amazing women’s rights organisation (woop!) and generally just feeling like me. There’s still some waves of restlessness but I’ll talk about that another day. All part of being an adventure addict…

What have you been up to lately? How are you settling into 2015?

10 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. I am so glad you are so happy right now! That sweet potato thing has happened to me numerous times in London! They are still good but nothing on the normal sweet tater!

  2. Your food looks pretty delicious, even if it’s normal.

    2015 is pretty nice so far. I already feel very booked though, which is a little overwhelming for me. I wish I had more free weekends. (But even if I did, I’d probably fill them with things.)

Leave a Reply

