{Review} Pure Taste London

Something I really want to start doing a bit more on here is writing up reviews of my favourite restaurants and cafés as not only will it push me to branch out a little more (I go to the same coffee shop at least twice a week… I love it) but I also think it’s a great resource to have, especially when trying to find certain types of food in a big city.

Cue Wednesday night. I headed to Pure Taste in Notting Hill with one of my favourite food testing sidekicks (yup, that’s a thing), the lovely Cat. Started via a Kickstarter campaign, Pure Taste is London’s first paleo restaurant with all food being free from gluten and dairy, as well as grassfed and organic where possible.

We got there at 7pm when it was still pretty quiet but by the time we left, around 9pm, I don’t think there was a free table left! So I’d imagine it’s probably best to book if you’re making a special visit. The restaurant itself is pretty minimalist and nothing ‘wow’ visibly, but the service was great and the food…oh the food.

Let’s skip to the good bit.

The menu seems to change seasonally and each dish is marked to show if it’s Whole 30 friendly, autoimmune ‘safe’, vegan, etc. I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to be in a restaurant and have the whole menu to choose from!

As soon as we sat down we were offered drinks (just water for these wild kids) and brought these delicious little morsels whilst we made our choices…

pure taste london duckThese were duck with an orange gel and just delicious

We couldn’t go to a paleo restaurant and not order the bread! Now, first off, as we discussed at dinner there is obviously a bit of a difference between paleo baked goods and ‘normal’ ones’. The coconut flour texture is there so don’t go expecting it to be exactly the same as your standard restaurant bread. If you like paleo baked goods however, like I 100% do, then I’m sure you’ll love it. Oh my goodness this bread was insane.

pure taste london rosemary garlic foccacia Rosemary and garlic foccacia with avocado butter, oh hello

We passed over the starters and headed straight over to the main action. It was a tricky decision but I finally decided on the guinea fowl as it’s not something I’d make for myself at home. It came served with cavolo nero, madeira, prunes and the most incredible bread sauce. I definitely lucked out with my order, Cat went for the beef short rib which should have been delicious but sadly was pretty dry so needed a lot of sauce poured over it.

pure taste london guinea fowlGuinea fowl, cavolo nero, prunes, madeira and bread sauce aka a plateful of heaven

Finally, it would’ve been rude of us not to try some desserts right? They do a sweet little deal (get it?) of your choice of tea/coffee with either almond or coconut milk and four mini tasting desserts. We were sold.

There was the cutest maple donut I have ever seen (the icing was definitely my favourite bit, just pass me a bowl), some toronne, chocolate hazlenut fudge (yes, just yes) and rosemary and lemon mint cake, the perfect ending to the night.

We both opted for decaf almond milk cappuccinos which were good but nothing to write home about, it’s all in the quality of the milk for me. There was also the choice of coconut sugar and xylitol for those who like their coffee sweet, which was a nice touch.

pure taste london fours

pure taste london almond cappucino

Overall, it was a lovely evening and I really thought the food was incredibly delicious and, from what I saw, pretty imaginative too. It was so refreshing to leave a meal with a fully happy tummy. Notting Hill is a bit of a trek for me but I know I’ll be back. The company wasn’t bad either 😉

11 thoughts on “{Review} Pure Taste London

  1. OMG I need to visit this place! Next trip to London and I am there – paleo baked good and auto immune friendly menus – my prayers have been answered:)

  2. Avocado butter sounds basically like my heaven. Delicious looking.

    I love that more and more paleo restaurants are popping up, I’m not personally paleo, but it would be nice to be able to accommodate my friends and eat amazing food. 🙂

  3. Pingback: More Coffee Shops That Serve Almond Milk in London

  4. Pingback: January 2015 in Review: - Cat Food is Good For You

  5. Pingback: Weekend Adventures & A Big Day Out | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

