{Recipie} Raw Ginger Snack Balls

I debated long and hard about how to name this post… I mean, the words ‘ginger’ and ‘balls’ obviously had to be in there… In fact, I even had an hour long Skype convo with my friend in Australia and post if it was spent with the two of us in hysterics trying to come up with a name for my recipe… I’ll spare you some of the ones we came up with 😉 And, yes, we are in our 20s. Nothing wrong with a good old bit of immature humour. 

Ginger Snack Balls

Anyhow, focus. Focus. The idea for this recipe came from my beloved Nakd Gingerbread Bars. For all you non-Brits these are basically British Larabars and utterly delicious. However, they happen to be – as all good things tend to be – rather expensive. So I took it upon myself this week to try and recreate my own version. 

I can’t tell you that they test exactly like gingerbread, simply because they don’t. But I can tell you that they are definitely gingery, delicious and packed full of goodness from just a few simple ingredients… At the first bite they appear to be quite mild, until you wait just a moment longer and the buttery, ginger flavour develops in your mouth… And guess what? As with all balls, they’re super easy to make!

photo 1 (14)

Raw Ginger Snack Balls

Yields about 18 balls

2/3 cup almonds

1/3 cup pecans

1 cup pitted dates

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger

Simply pop all the ingredients into your food processor and blend away, using the sharp, cutting attachment. Keep going until the mixture starts to clump together.

Now for the messy fun part! Remove the cutting attachment and using your fingers gently mould the mixture into tightly packed balls.

Place the balls onto a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper and put in the fridge for a couple of hours to set. 

These can be stored in a tupperware container in the fridge or freezer.

Ginger Snack Balls 2

Ginger Snack Balls 3

Are you as immature as I am?! What’s your snack of preference?

6 thoughts on “{Recipie} Raw Ginger Snack Balls

Leave a Reply

