{WIAW} Whole 30 – Day 1

Hi, my name’s Pip and I’m a snackaholic.

I joke. Although yesterday it sure did feel like it. I was getting so frustrated by my continual hunger (you know those days, right?) that I nearly didn’t join Jenn’s food party today. I felt embarrassed, as I sometimes do, by sharing my eats out loud, for the world to judge. Silly really, we’ve all got to eat after all!

WIAW button

 

Yesterday started out at 7am (although I don’t think I left my bed until 7.20…). I had my usual favourite breakfast of eggs, fruit and nut butter, can’t get enough of this combo!

eggs and berries

 

Oh and the best tea…

jasmine green tea

And then the best coffee… because, you know, essential:

starbucks coffee

I then headed to CrossFit for the 9.30am class. I am always reminded that although my stamina is still pretty good, my strength and explosive speed have rather a long way to go… We did this workout:

Warm-up on the rower (it was raining out so this made me happy!)

Mobilisation stretches

3 back squats every 2 minutes for 20 minutes

12-9-6 twice of kettlebell swings and burpees

Stretch

Not too shabby! Just got to work on that strength 🙂 I actually felt really demoralised after this until I realise that the whole point I am doing this is to improve and I have already improved so much. Must. be. less. impatient.

CrossFit was followed by a handful of cashews:

cashews

 

I then sorted out all my jewellery. I know this sounds rather a pathetic task but since moving house I’m slowly going through all my stuff and getting rid of all the unnecessary junk that I’ve accumulated over the years! It actually took rather a long time…

All the way until lunch time! Which included this awesome burger, except I used turkey mince as I can never find chicken (or I’m blind, also possible):

chicken apple burger sweet potato

I then curled up on my bed to do some uni work with only one break to FaceTime my best friend, naturally this involved a lot of hysterical laughter. That girl’s like my sister, love her!

And then the snack monster hit… I waited a good hour after lunch and then each snack to see if I was just taking a while to fill up but no luck. It was when I felt light headed that I decided it was a bit ridiculous – I’m not on a diet, if I’m hungry I’ll darn well eat!

banana almond butterBanana and almond butter

Ginger Nakd BarAMAZING ginger Nakd bar

And then dinnertime finally rolled around… I made cauliflower rice with various veggies and pan fried tuna steak. Super delicious:

tuna steak

But apparently STILL not enough as after dinner I was hungry AGAIN. Hello blueberry and banana smoothie in a bowl:

2014-08-05 19.11.29

And then, exhausted, I flopped infront of the tv and watched NCIS. Because I’m cool like that.

So, thoughts on day 1 of Whole 30? I need to eat bigger meals! Hopefully this will stop the snacking because it’s really getting quite frustrating already… Whole 30 recommend to eat 3 meals a day rather than steadily eating all day, so let’s see how this goes…

What have you eaten this week? Any Whole 30 tips?

14 thoughts on “{WIAW} Whole 30 – Day 1

  1. Love your eats! I know what you mean about the snacking – for me sometimes it’s hunger (my tip: fat fat fat! the one thing that keeps me full – and happy!) and other times it’s pure boredom/habit. I’ve never done a strict whole30 but now that my eating habits are (generally!) like that, I have finally found myself snacking less.

    But gingerbread nakd bars? Always worthy of a snack 😉

    • They’re amazing aren’t they!! Need to stock up 😉

      Yes I think you’re right, need to work on the fat – I’m a lot better with it than I was (old fears) but still a way to go. Need to get it into my head that fat doesn’t necessarily = fat.

      Read your blog for the first time today lovely – love it!!

  2. Yummy looking eats! As Cat says, the only thing that keeps me on satiated and away from snacks is fat, fat, fat!
    I like spoonfuls of nut butter and tahini, coconut yoghurt, olive oil drizzed on salad or steamed greens and avocado with meat. Not only does it fill me up but it helps with vitamin absorption too.

  3. Your eats look good, but like you said, probably eating bigger meals would help – as well as eating more healthy fats. It didn’t look like you had a ton of fat, which fat is so healthy & extremely satiating. It really can help cut down on snacking & feeling hungry and/or light headed. I’m a born snacker though, so don’t feel bad. 🙂
    Happy Wednesday!

  4. I can definitely relate to feeling snacky all the darn day — that’s been the story of my life since I got back from the mountains. But hey… we demand a lot from our bodies, so they demand a lot back. And I’ve heard the theory about eating bigger meals to stay satisfied longer, but I have to admit that I have a super time not snacking — it’s one of my favourite things to do and includes some of my favourite foods to eat!

  5. That’s a fab day of eats and a girl after my own heart with that breakfast! I know it can be a bit weird when you feel so snacky, but with you just starting the Whole 30 there will be a transition period where you find out what works for you for meal sizes. Reducing things like grains can leave a calorie gap, just make sure you are getting lots of lovely fats 🙂

  6. I love snacking, if you find something to make you less hungry I’d love to hear it. I think I might just be hard-wired to perpetually snack!

  7. Pingback: Whole 30 – Week 1 Recap – Bacon, Pancakes & a Big Fat Fear | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

