Whole 30 Thoughts

Since I left Buenos Aires I’ve been thinking about starting a Whole 30. (For those of you who don’t know, Whole 30 is basically 30 days of strict paleo eating, you can find more details on their site.) Although I’ve been enjoying loving my eating since getting home and am super proud of myself with how my eating has evolved over the past year, I still feel I have a way to go. I want to learn more about my body and how it responds to different foods. Recently I seem to have naturally shifted towards a more paleo style of eating, with ‘Pip modifications’, and I’ve noticed that the more paleo I eat, the more energised and the happier I feel. So I am curious as to what 30 days of super strict paleo will do. I am also interested to see if any of my ‘stubborn fat’ (i.e. around my stomach area) will shift, as it has done for other Whole 30ers. But, I must point out, that primarily I want to do this for my health. My body will just go where it’s naturally meant to go.

Now, this is a big step for me. Normally I am 100% any form of diet or restricted eating. Normally I would never even consider anything that could lead me back into my former obsessive eating patterns. However, I have done a lot of research into Whole 30. Ultimately, it is an experiment to see how your body reacts to different foods – physically and mentally. An experiment that involves eating real, nourishing foods. Can’t really argue with that.

I must admit, I’m crap at meal planning. In fact, I actively dislike it. I mean, how am I meant to know what I’m going to want to eat in 5 days time? So, my intention is to plan my day’s meals the night before and have a stock of food prepped in the fridge/freezer that I can tuck into each week. I can always adapt this as I go and as I learn more about what works best for me. And, obviously, I’ll be posting plenty of updates on here as I go.

So, here goes. Starting tomorrow (5 is my lucky number…), I am embarking on 30 days of whole foods – meat, fish, eggs, veggies, fruit, nuts and seeds. Let’s see where this challenge goes – I’m quite excited (!).

Have you ever done a Whole 30? What are your thoughts?

7 thoughts on “Whole 30 Thoughts

  1. I totally get you when you say you don’t like to try anything that could lead back to restrictive eating.
    I think you are doing this 100% for the right reasons so you will be good 🙂
    Good luck on the journey and I can’t wait to read all about how you get on x

    • Yes, I remember reading about that! My main motivation is learn more about my intolerances, if I find myself back where I started again then at least I’ll know for sure it’s right for me I guess! Thank you 🙂
      Also – love reading about people arguing back against things like this, there’s so much ‘do this, do that’ out there so I find it so encouraging to hear someone say ‘no, actually that’s not right for me’. Takes guts!

  2. Pingback: {WIAW} Whole 30 – Day 7 | Cherries & Chisme

  3. Pingback: Whole 30 – Week 2 Recap – A Dinner Party, Meal Out and A Confession | Cherries & Chisme

  4. Pingback: The FINAL Whole 30 Recap – The Good, The Bad & The Ugly | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

