No excuses needed

Yesterday morning I got up at 7am, as planned. I felt a bit sore and achey but thought nothing of it, other than that I had worked hard the day before (truth). I ate a light breakfast ready for CrossFit and then it hit me. I felt absolutely exhausted, my glands were swollen and I was suddenly boiling hot. It took me a good half an hour to accept that going to CrossFit might not be the best idea, especially with a 10 hour shift on my feet at work coming up that afternoon.

Ever the over-thinker, I started analysing why I felt this way. Let’s rewind a little. This past week I worked out 7 times in 6 days. That could be counted as a fair amount but this girl used to train 13 times a week for rowing, so should it really be that big of a deal?

Well yes actually. Firstly, let’s acknowledge that I’m not exactly ‘in training’ anymore so things are a little different. I heard on a Barbell Shrugged podcast a while back that it’s not so much about over-training but under-recovering. Let’s look at my ‘recovery’ – I’ve been sleeping awfully, taking forever to fall asleep and then waking earlier and earlier. And I’ve been feeling super stressed and on edge all week. Ah. Yes. Now I see… It makes a bit more sense now.

But now the next question. Why do I feel stressed?

I don’t know.

I just have. Maybe there’s some underlying reason that I haven’t figured out yet but this week I’ve just felt this urge that I have to do all the things. Well, that’s not that healthy is it? So yesterday I had a mental yell at myself and stopped and sat on the sofa doing sod all until it was time to go to work. And today? I’m going to make myself some waffles and hopefully enjoy the first day of nice weather in a while.

(Source)

Life doesn’t always need a reason. Sometimes there is no why, no what should I do. Sometimes there’s certain things you just need to do, no rhyme nor reason. No excuses needed. Don’t be afraid to listen and do what you need to do. Do what’s right for you.

2 thoughts on “No excuses needed

Leave a Reply

