{Reflections} My life in Argentina

I am writing this in advance, with two weeks left in Argentina. As you read this I am (hopefully) travelling somewhere in the province of Jujuy, in the north of Argentina. Either that or I’m majorly lost… Help?

So here it is, the blog post I imagined writing so long ago. My reflections on my life in Argentina. How to put it into words? I’ll give it my best attempt…

I came out here with next to no expectations. I had no idea what the past six months would bring, the inspirational people I would meet, how I would evolve nor quite how much I would fall in love with this city. Throughout my time here I have learnt so much…about life itself, Argentina, my internship, a whole new culture and, ultimately, about myself. And for that I am so grateful.

(Source)

So it seems only right to structure this post as my personal “thank yous” (graciases?) to Buenos Aires…

Gracias…for all your quirks. For not following the rules. For giving me my coffee for free because you have no change. For your crazy drivers, even if it’s a bit terrifying sometimes. For your weirdness. For making it up as you go along. For showing me that life works without rules. For doing things your own way.

Gracias…for your openness. For being my playground. For CrossFit being open 15 hours a day because you never know when someone might want a class. For it being acceptable to party any night of the week. But also for it being acceptable not to. For every day bringing a new discovery, a new marvel. For opening my eyes. For what I see when I look up.

Gracias…for giving me the freedom to be and do as I choose. For taking me away from my routine. For the adventure.

Gracias…for taking me away from all that I knew. For providing me with the time and space to think and reflect on my life. I wouldn’t say I’ve “grown-up” as such (I can already be a bit of a granny) but I have grown as a person and evolved. I’ve learnt more about myself than I ever thought I could. I’ve lost the restrictions I constantly used to place upon myself. It’s still work in progress but I’m getting there. I now know I don’t have to be the perfect version of myself. I just need to live, to the full, how I want to, everyday. I now know where I want to go in my life and what I want to do. I now know that it’s okay to be me.

Gracias…for bringing me back to me. And for making me feel like the luckiest girl in the world.

(Source)

This may seem like one of the “cheesier” blog posts I’ve written but perhaps you need to take a leap for you. Step out of your comfort zone. Open your mind. See what you learn. Then you’ll understand.

9 thoughts on “{Reflections} My life in Argentina

  1. It makes me so incredibly happy to hear all of these this 🙂 you’ve deserved the last 6 months for a long time and I’m so glad it’s worked out so amazingly. However I can’t tell you how excited I am for your return, I absolutely cannot wait to see you! Loads of love x x x

  2. I am so glad you have had such a wonderful and inspiring time over there PIp.
    It is making me even more excited for my upcoming move 🙂
    I bet I will learn SO much, like you have done!
    Enjoy your last two weeks lovely 🙂

  3. Pingback: It’s been a year | Cherries & Chisme

  4. Pingback: New Year, New Ideas | Cherries & Chisme

  5. Pingback: Big City Life | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

