Why do I blog?

The classic question. Weirdly, I’ve found this post incredibly hard to write as it is so hard to put my finger on the exact reasons on why I write on here, other than that I need to. But that would make for a rather boring post. I also feel that it’s important to get it written down on paper, so to speak, why I am here in this little corner of cyberspace.

About a year and a half ago I started to read healthy living blogs and straight away fell in love with the community and the lessons it taught me. I love how a blog post can offer everything and anything, be it a spark of inspiration, the comfort of knowing somebody else is going through something similar to you, reassurance, a new perspective, a little bit of clarity, a recipe to try or even just a plain old laugh. The blogs I read comfort and inspire me, and help me know that I am not alone in the way I think and feel.

green smoothie

So, why write?

Since I was a young teenager I’ve always been writing something, some way to vent my thoughts whenever I was struggling. Sometimes it’s just to get my thoughts in order and out of my head. It’s a release. It nudges me to think about things in a different way. And now, as I have grown up and travelled more, it’s also to get my memories down and recorded. I seem to have an inherent fear that at some point in my life I’m going to forget everything and I’m not going to let all the lessons learnt and the incredible moments slip away.

Yet, that still doesn’t convey why I share it. Here. Online. The World Wide Web. Can’t really get much more public… Ultimately, I blog for me. It makes me feel good and if nobody reads it, well it’s not the end of the world. But it’s good to share and it feels amazing when I get a comment from someone new or see that someone has read a post in a country I’ve never even been to. And there’s something quite liberating and powerful about feeling confident enough to publish your thoughts to the world. It’s taken me a while to get Cherries & Chisme to feel like me, as let’s be honest here, I started out a bit scared and awkward. Now though, I feel free. And I like it.

Why do you read or write blogs?

6 thoughts on “Why do I blog?

  1. I think you’ve said it very well. I blog for “me”, for a creative outlet, but the presence of an audience (real or potential) makes me more disciplined, more likely to polish before I post, and ultimately produces a better result than if I was just writing a diary or taking photos. It’s the me and you relationship and what it inspires me to create.

  2. i agree –if people want to read and respond, then wonderful! but if they don’t? well i blog for myself above all so that’s okay, too. blogging is the creative outlet i didn’t know i was missing until i got started! now i can’t imagine not having a place to voice my thoughts.

  3. Well said!!! I too blog as my creative outlet and also after a long day at work (in a job I don’t love)- it’s like my saving grace. I don’t blog for the comments or the petty drama which can entail- it’s the community and the amazing bloggers you meet worldwide!

  4. Pingback: A bit of a fallout… | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

