{Thinking Out Loud} Panics, planning and ponderings…

Today I am linking up with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud, so let’s just dive straight in!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

 

1. I’ve ratherly awkwardly realised that when I run with my water bottle (pretty much whenever I go running) I run with the thumb on my other hand stuck up, in a kind of a let’s go hitchhiking motion! Nobody’s stopped for me yet though…

2. When getting on the bus last week, behind a rather tall man, the bus driver started to drive off with me one leg in, one leg out the door! Needless to say a “WAAAHHH” followed, leading to a very flustered and apologetic bus driver and me feeling, once again, like I was the definition of elegance 😉

3. Speaking of buses, there is a well engrained habit here in Buenos Aires that men will generally (although not with Mr. Tall it seems!) let women onto buses first and allow them to get first choice of seats. Now this isn’t something that I would generally complain about but it got me thinking, is this anti-feminist? I mean, I despise being cat-called by men all day, everyday, yet when it comes to things we would consider to be ‘gentlemanly’, is this going against the equality women continue to strive for?

4. In more trivial news, they’ve finally started to spell my name right in Starbucks!! Pip is a very tricky name to get right here, so I’ve started going for Pippa instead and tah-dah!

2014-04-28 13.56.50-1

 

5. Recently I have realised how much I desperately need to update my music collection… I am still listening to the same songs I was listening to during finals, which does bring back the occasional flashback to pre-exam fear and freak outs every now and then… Hardly a relaxing experience. Any suggestions?

6. I am feeling rather proud of myself this week for doing my first proper meal prep! (I am not a planner.) I made a (rather delicious, if I do say so myself) bolognese which was perfect for office lunches:

2014-04-28 11.58.39-1

As well as this awesome banana bread (which also made me realise really just how dodgy my oven is… spot the difference anyone?)

2014-04-30 17.07.09

2014-04-30 17.07.40

7. The health food shop on my block has started stocking eggs and they are incredible, I mean, just check out this yolk action – so orange!

2014-04-29 16.38.24-1

 

8. As the weather is getting colder here I am missing my duvet more and more, it seems that no matter how many blankets you pile upon your bed (I had 3 layers of bedding the other night), it just isn’t cosy!

9. And finally, I have decided it is my mission to be able to do a Handstand Push-up before I leave Buenos Aires, or at least a handstand. My wall climb’s getting better at least! Come.on.arms.

Any randomness or mishaps from your past week?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “{Thinking Out Loud} Panics, planning and ponderings…

  1. I made banana bread last night as well! It was the first thing I had cooked in my new oven so was a bit worried but luckily it came out perfectly! I have a question – does starbucks in BA taste the same as starbucks here??? X

  2. I wish I could help you on the music front, but I haven’t updated my playlist in months and months, and it’s gotten to the point where I’m basically skipping past all my songs. Ugh. Need something fresh and new… I miss that feeling of my feet sprouting wings whenever a good song comes on. Problem is, I haven’t bevel been hearing anything on the radio that I like. Eep!

  3. I only ever listen to music online now – that way I don’t have to think; I’m far too lazy to make a play list 😛
    It is offensive and random that I really want a female Cavalier King Charles and to name her Pippa? I think it’s the perfect name.

  4. I have had some crazy bus times too, back when I lived in Boston.

    This week I’ve been really scatterbrained—I have no idea what I did with my pack of eye makeup remover wipes. Can’t find them anywhere!

  5. Pingback: {Thinking Out Loud} | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

