Old Favourites & New Discoveries

The past few days have been the perfect combination of my favourite treats, beautifully combined with some new finds. That’s something that I love about living in a big city such as Buenos Aires, my neighbourhood feels so homely and familiar yet there is always something new to discover…

A new discovery was an iced soy cappuccino from Starbucks – I love iced coffees and wanted to make the most of the last of the warm weather (so NOT ready for winter…must.buy.a.coat.) but never knew you could get them in cappuccino form!! This was followed by another ‘new’ find, in this country at least, with a trip to Le Pain Quotidien with Tess. It was so funny to go to a café so full of French people in Argentina! I had an amazing goats cheese salad with lots of other bits of deliciousness, including some lovely melon and the café was beautifully decorated for Easter 🙂

photo 4 (6)My friend Katie’s mum has been visiting from the States this week and surprised as all at dinner (at our favourite Mexican, totally forgot to take photos) with Easter treats! Incredible dark chocolate Easter bunnies and little eggs from a chocolate shop near where they live in New York State – a very happily unexpected discovery indeed.

photo 2 (8)

Yesterday I did what is starting to become one of my favourite ‘go to’ workouts – the bodyweight workout from Will Owen’s Travel Strong – if you haven’t yet checked it out do have a look as it is AWESOME, full of tips for staying fit and working out whilst on the road or abroad. It was an absolutely stunning sunny day, with a perfect cooling breeze, so I incorporated it into a little run down to the park and the ‘outdoor gym’ they have down there… I wish we had more things like this in the UK, I know I’ve seen some in Spain before and I think it’s a great idea to encourage people to be more active and get outdoors. Although maybe we just don’t have the weather for it…!

photo 1 (7)

I also took a visited my all time favourite café here in Buenos Aires to do some work – Malvón. I probably go there about twice a week so they always recognise me (not sure whether this is a good or bad thing!) and say hello and ask how I am which is really nice – it makes it feel very homely. It was a feriado (national holiday) so they were serving brunch. I tried the Veggie Popover which (to a Brit like me) kinda seemed like a cold Yorkshire Pudding filled with roasted vegetables and cheese, with some baked crisps and hummus. It was nice but definitely would have been better hot and full of sausages and gravy a la Toad in the Hole 😉 Being brunch it came with fresh bread, a corn muffin (also a first for me, a bit dense for my liking) and this fruity thing which was great. And no, I sadly didn’t manage to eat ALL that food! Did try though!

photo 5 (3)

photo 3 (5)

 

Happy Easter! Have a lovely weekend!

Do you prefer sticking to your favourite classics or trying something new?

 

2 thoughts on “Old Favourites & New Discoveries

  1. Wow that salad looks delicious! I went to a Le Pain Quotiden in London a while ago and it was absolutely lovely, all the food looked so good. And you know you’ve found a good foodie place when it is full of French people, they have impeccable taste 😉
    I have a few cafes that I go to a lot, I think it is nice to have people get to know you and your order. Sometimes I’ll get a few extra stamps on my card too 🙂

    • I may have gone back today 😉 I had an even better salad! SO TRUE about French people, a lot of my family live in France and our meals there are always divine…
      Oh I miss getting stamps on my card! Not even Starbucks has a loyalty scheme here!

Leave a Reply

