{RECIPE} Pear Banana Pancakes

Yesterday I made banana pancakes for the first time ever. Oh. My. They are amazing! I realise I may be a bit late to the party here but that combination of light fluffiness but yet so filling… My love for pancakes has only been strengthened. I also made a simple sauce to go with them that was so utterly delicious (in my humble opinion, I was very hungry at the time so may be slightly biased…) that after writing out the complete instructions to my friend on WhatsApp I realised that I had probably better share it with you.

The pancake recipe itself is not mine, it is from a wonderful blog I stumbled across when looking to fulfil my pancake craving. The blog was Eugenie Kitchen and the original recipe can be found here. I only made one alternation in adding the vanilla extract.

photo (6)

Pear Banana Pancakes

For the pancakes:

2 eggs

1 banana

1/8 tsp. baking powder

1 capful vanilla extract

Mash the banana. Then whisk the eggs together until smooth before combining well with the other ingredients. Cook using a non-stick frying pan on a medium-high heat (I am impatient so it tends to be more high) in batches of about 1-2 tablespoons for around 1 minute on each side until a nice golden colour. Arrange on your plate and set to one side.

 

For the pear:

1 pear

Slice the pear up small and cook in the same pan you used for the pancakes until it starts to soften. Simple!

 

For the peanut sauce:

1 tsp. peanut butter

1 tsp. honey

A sprinkling of cinnamon

A splash of soy milk (thank you to my beautiful flatmate for my present!)

Mix all the ingredients together before pouring all over your pancakes, along with the pear!

 

Personally, I loved this breakfast and it was so easy to make. A perfect alternative to flour pancakes, particular here in Buenos Aires where I am trying not to buy expensive items such as protein powder – I hope you enjoy!

 

I have also added a new page to Cherries & Chisme “Blog Love” full of my favourite blogs so do check it out.

4 thoughts on “{RECIPE} Pear Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

