{WIAW} Liquid dinner & creamy banana porridge recipe

WIAW button

I have finally got round to writing my first WIAW Wednesday of Buenos Aires! I was inspired by reading everyone else’s eats last Wednesday so decided to log my eats that very day.

I woke at 7 to shower and get myself ready for Spanish School (I’m going to miss going to this place!). The night before I had made a curry for dinner so had some left over coconut milk, I decided to try it in my porridge as I have heard great things and wow it was delicious and super filling as I also used an egg. So here’s the recipe for you guys to try at home.

Creamy banana porridge

Serves 1

photo 1 (4)

50g oats

Water

1 egg

100ml coconut milk (left uncovered in the fridge the night before)

1 banana

1 tsp cinnamon (depending on how much you like cinnamon!)

A few pecans to sprinkle on top

Combine the oats and enough water to cover and cook in the microwave for 90 secs on high. Then whisk in your egg, cinnamon and half of the coconut milk and cook for another 90 secs.

Remove from microwave, pour the rest of the coconut milk on top, slice up the banana and sprinkle on along with the pecans. Take a picture before mushing it around into a big mess. Enjoy!

photo 2 (3)

This was the day that I took my Oaty Banana Bars (as above) into school so I had half a small one in the break (unpictured) – 4 hours of intense Spanish requires fuel!

After class I went home to make lunch. This was stir fried aubergine and red pepper with basil, pepper and lemon juice, along with some avocado mixed in afterwards – delicious! I followed it with an incredibly juice pear as dessert (unpictured).

photo 3 (2)

I then when to this great café/bar just a few blocks from my building to study some Spanish and catch up on my blogging. Whilst there I enjoyed this incredible iced coffee and a jasmine green tea – I love how cute the teacup and teapot set is!

photo 4 (4)

photo 1 (5)

photo 2 (4)

I popped home for a quick change and an apple before heading to my yoga class. The classes take place tucked away above a deli, I love the secret discoveries of this city! After class I grabbed a quick smoothie from the deli containing various fruits and quinoa, apparently… I find quite often here things that are listed on the menu don’t always appear and this definitely seemed more like a juice.

photo 3 (3)

Nevertheless, it was my easiest option for dinner on the bus as I went on to meet some friends at a bar/club for the evening. We ended up getting a free drink on arrival as it was an international event (for once we had to prove we were foreign!) so I had a Gin & Tonic. I was still feeling pretty hungry and unsatisfied by my failure of a dinner so had a Diet Coke to try and ‘fill up’ as I am rarely enthused by bar food (I know I know! I am telling myself off writing this!). Later on I had a glass of free champagne in-between plenty of dancing.

So there is my day! Not particularly ‘healthy’ in that my dinner was essentially alcohol but I am pretty sure I danced off the calories 😉 and hey, it was fun!

What’s your most recent meal failure?

One thought on “{WIAW} Liquid dinner & creamy banana porridge recipe

Leave a Reply

