{RECIPE} Oaty Banana Bars

It all started with a game we were playing in Spanish School to practice our grammar. We were learning the imperative tense with a dice (each number corresponded to a different person) and a pile of cards with verbs on. I got ‘nosotros’ (‘we’) and ‘cocinar’ (‘to cook’) so naturally the first thing that popped into my head was ‘nosotros cocinemos una surprisa por mañana’ (roughly ‘we have to cook a surprise for tomorrow’) not realising that we actually had to DO the commands we were practicing and forgetting that we currently have no gas in our building so all I have to bake in at the moment is a little electrical oven…

 

Nonetheless, being me, I could not be defeated! I took inspiration from this recipe by the wonderful Laura Agar Wilson and came up with this concoction…

 

Oaty Banana Bars

(Makes 12)

photo 1 (3)

1 cup oats

1/4 cup flour (I used wholemeal)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 handful walnuts (broken up)

1/3 cup honey

2 bananas well mashed

1 egg

 

Pre heat the oven to 180C and grease a baking tray.

Firstly mix together all the dry ingredients in a large bowl, and then add in the rest and combine (you may want to add a splash of oil if you think it looks a bit dry but mine didn’t need any).

Pour into the baking tray and spread evenly. Bake for 25mins (please keep checking regarding the time as my oven is not very precise!) until a golden brown. Remove from the oven and allow to cool and firm up further before cutting into 12.

photo 2 (3)

I took these in Spanish School and they were devoured (before I told people that they contain no refined sugar and no official fat – I don’t count the egg and nuts as they’re good fats!)! I hope you enjoy.

4 thoughts on “{RECIPE} Oaty Banana Bars

  1. Pingback: {WIAW} Liquid dinner & creamy banana porridge recipe | Cherries & Chisme

Leave a Reply

